Apple iPhone 4S marches into new countries

The iPhone 4S will be available in a number of new countries and territories later this month.

Specifically, 22 countries will be added to the mix on January 13, making the total reach of Apple’s latest phone now available in more than 90 countries.

Among the new countries, perhaps the most notable, is China.

Apple CEO Tim Cook noted in a statement that the quick turnaround from when the iPhone 4S launched in the US and when it will hit China is the company’s “fastest iPhone rollout ever” in the densely populated nation.

Here’s the complete list of new countries that will receive official iPhone 4S units from Apple next week:

Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bolivia, Botswana, British Virgin Islands, Cameroon, Cayman Islands, Central African Republic, China, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Grenada, Guam, Guinea Conakry, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Kenya, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritius, Niger, Senegal, St. Vincent and The Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos, and Uganda.

Among the many adjustments required to localize the iPhone 4S to so many different regions is new language support for Siri. The voice recognition software will support Mandarin in the very near future, Apple said.