Unplugging: New music for your ears

With fall and winter tours getting ready to take flight, artists are releasing new music and building up hype for their upcoming album releases.

Artist Bat for Lashes has released two tracks from her upcoming album. The two tracks, titled “All Your Gold” and “Marilyn,” are to be featured on her third album The Haunted Man. Fans can add these two songs to the recently released song “Laura,” as they wait for the anticipated album drop. The album is set to release on October 15th in the UK and October 23rd in the US.

Canadian twins Tegan and Sara have released the first single from their anticipated upcoming album. The title of the track is “Closer,” and is set to be on the twins’ forthcoming album to be released January 2013. “Sara calls CLOSER my ‘let’s get it on’ track,” Tegan recently commented to Rolling Stone Magazine. The track, according to Tegan, is about “a time before sex, complicated relationships, drama and heart break.” Check out Tegan and Sara on their tour with The Black Keys and The Killers this fall and winter.

Another band hailing from Canada, Death from Above 1979, has released new dates for their upcoming reunion tour. The band has also stated that they will be playing some new material for their fans during these shows.

Band member Sebastian Grainger commented on the website, “We’re going to throw our little muscle bound babies to the lions and see who survives…We tried just jumping into the studio, but the songs lacked spirit. They lacked life.”

The new songs will be the bands’ first new material since their 2004 album, You’re a Woman, I’m a Machine. The tour will only go through the bands home country, Canada, this fall. In anticipation of the G.O.O.D Music album, Cruel Summer, a new single was recently released. Featuring Kanye West, Big Sean, and Jay-Z, “Clique” brings together three of the most popular rappers on the scene. Grammy-Nominated producer and rapper Hit-Boy is also featured on the track. Cruel Summer was released this week, on Tuesday, September 18th.

This week, Minneapolis-based band Marijuana Deathsquads released a mixtape titled “Tamper. Disable. Destroy.” The mixtape not only features tracks from Marijuana Deathsquads but also serves as a compilation of other well-known Minneapolis artists. The track “Top Down” features Justin Vernon of indie-group Bon Iver, Lazerbeak, Astronautalis, and Channy Leaneagh, the frontwoman from Poliҫa. The ten-track mixtape is now available for download on Marijuana Deathsquads website.

With these new releases, artists continue to build hype for their music even at the end of the year. If what lies in the next few months continues to be as promising as it seems, the music of 2012 might be just what we need to kick off an amazing music climate for 2013.

Unplugging in Brief:

Listen: Hear New Bat for Lashes Songs “All Your Gold” and “Marilyn”

Listen: Tegan and Sara Release New Song “Closer”

Death from Above 1979 Will Debut New Music on Upcoming Tour

Listen: Kanye West, Jay-Z and Big Sean Release New Song “Clique”

Listen and Download: Marijuana Deathsquads New Mixtape Tamper. Disable. Destroy.

* Aria Davis, MXDWN