19 new markets join Verizon 4G LTE network

By the end of the week, 19 more metropolitan areas across all US time zones will be added to Verizon’s ever expanding 4G repertoire.

This will bring the total number of cities to 74. Most of the major metropolitan areas across the US already have service, so at this point Verizon is just working to fill in the smaller gaps.

This week’s new 4G cities encompass multiple cities in all the following states:

– Alabama

– Arizona

– California

– Connecticut

– Florida

– Georgia

– Idaho

– Illinois

– Indiana

– Louisiana

– Massachusetts

– Michigan

– Missouri

– Nevada

– New York

– North Carolina

– Ohio

– Oklahoma

– Pennsylvania

– South Carolina

– South Dakota

– Kentucky

– Tennessee

– Texas

– Utah

– Washington

– Wisconsin

That’s 26 states receiving new and/or expanded 4G service. Washington, DC is also included in that list. Some of the 19 “markets” expand over two or three states, with dozens of individual cities encompassed.

Verizon uses a 4G standard called LTE (Long Term Evolution) and has been heralded as the fasted 4G service provider in the country. Other mobile carriers that launched different versions of 4G connectivity are now switching to LTE.