Apple nearly quadruples iPhone 4 international markets

Beginning this Friday, the iPhone 4 will officially be available in 17 more countries in addition to the 5 that have already received the device.

Austria, Australia, Canada, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Hong Kong, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, New Zealand, Singapore, Switzerland, Spain, and Sweden will all be getting the iPhone 4 on Friday.

That adds to the device’s current list of the US, the UK, Germany, France, and Japan.

This puts Apple directly on path with its international target that it first announced when the phone came out last month.

Apple expects to bring the phone to 24 more countries in August, with the eventual goal of 88 countries by the end of September.

Even though it apparently can’t change the color of the device from black to white, it has been able to negotiate foreign customs and mobile regulations around the globe.