National Inventors Hall of Fame invites Intel’s Gordon Moore

San Jose (CA) – Intel co-founder Gordon Moore will be inducted into the National Inventors Hall of Fame on May 2. Intel’s most charismatic face and one of its first employees, Andrew Grove, will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award of the organization.

Moore, 80, will follow co-founder Robert Noyce, who was inducted in 1983 and died in 1990 at the age of 62. Noyce was inducted for the invention of the “Semiconductor Device-and-Lead Structure Integrated Circuit” in 1961; Moore will be honored for his efforts in semiconductor production. Moore became president and CEO in 1975 and held that post until elected chairman and CEO in 1979. He remained CEO until 1987 and was named chairman emeritus in 1997.  

Andrew Grove, 72, will be recognized “for his outstanding contributions and extended commitment to invention and technical innovation in the semiconductor industry.” Grove was part of Intel since its founding in 1968 and is also considered a co-founder of the company. Grove was president, CEO and chairman of Intel from 1979 to 2005. He currently is a senior advisor to the executive management at Intel.

He has been known for his tight leadership and mentoring that has brought forward some of today’s leadership in Intel, including senior vice president Pat Gelsinger.  

The event will take place at the Computer History Museum in Mountain View, CA on Saturday, May 2.
Led by Neal Conan, host of National Public Radio’s “Talk of the Nation,” the main event will “celebrate 50 years of the integrated circuit and recognize 15 pioneers in the field.” 15 people will be inducted into the hall of fame:


Martin M. Atalla: MOS transistor
Alfred Y. Cho: Molecular beam epitaxy (MBE)
Dov Frohman-Bentchkowsky: EPROM
George Heilmeier: Liquid crystal display (LCD)
Larry Hornbeck: Digital micromirror device
John Macdougall, Ken Manchester: Ion implantation
Carver Mead: VLSI method for designing chips
Gordon Moore: Semiconductor production
Frank Wanlass: Complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS)

Posthumous recognition

Ross Freeman: Field programmable gate array (FPGA)
Jean Hoerni: Planar process
Dawon Kahng: MOS transistor
Gordon Teal: Silicon transistor
Robert Widlar: Linear integrated circuits